2019 Award Winners

Now that the clocks have gone back it seems a long time ago when Barrow Gurney Cricket Club presented its end of season awards. We take a look back at the award winners and celebrate their achievements.

Guy Fisher shows off his special award.

Guy Fisher was the winner of a special award in recognition of him scoring 1,000 runs for Barrow in all cricket. With one hundred and 6 half centuries, Guy rarely failed with the bat on Sundays or friendlies and was also top-scorer for the first team in the B&D league.

Mark Fisher (First Team Player of the Year) in action at Hobbs Lane.

Mark Fisher, was named First Team player of the year, in a close contest with a number of players who all contributed to a genuine team effort. Mark opened the bowling and was unlucky not to take more than the 12 wickets he took, beating the bat often. An economy rate of only 3 an over was also very impressive. Mark too had a knack of making lower middle order runs when needed averaging 20 over the league season.

Simo n Hudson receives the Second Team Player award from Vice-Captain Adam Brace.

In the second team, the player of the year went to Simon Hudson, who made consistent contributions with bat and ball. Simon took 17 wickets in a team which often struggled to dismiss the opposition and was a safe pair of hands in the field too. However, it was his quick thinking having dropped a catch to run out the batsman with a sharp throw which will live long in the memory!

Kian Ware after his award was presented by Barrow President Brian Mayled.

The “breakthrough” award was won by Kian Ware, who joined Barrow Gurney this season and soon impressed with his hard-hitting batting, sensational fielding and as a bowler capable of bowling unplayable deliveries. Announcing his arrival with two consecutive half centuries in one weekend, his best performance was in taking Barrow 1st XI to victory making 83 not out against Bristol Lions sealing the game in double quick time.

Jane Holdaway studies her award as Club Person of the Year.

The ‘clubman’ of the year award will have to be re-named after Jane Holdaway deservedly lifted the shield. Whether in the scorebox, catering, assisting with organising the tour, acting as club welfare officer, organising sponsorship and in so many other ways, a small cricket club depends on people like Jane in order to function.

Congratulations to all our award winners.

Spread the word. Share this post!